{
  "title": "Study in Japan costs and scholarships",
  "checked": "2026-11-06",
  "policy": "Compiled from the official and school pages listed for each row. Rows marked as our own sum are calculated by us from those pages. Amounts may change each year. Check the official page before you pay or apply.",
  "columns": [
    {"key": "item", "label": "Item"},
    {"key": "type", "label": "Type"},
    {"key": "amount", "label": "Amount"},
    {"key": "period", "label": "Period"},
    {"key": "note", "label": "What to check"}
  ],
  "filters": [
    {"key": "type", "label": "Type"},
    {"key": "applies", "label": "Applies to"}
  ],
  "rows": [
    {"item": "First-year language school fees, Study in Japan range", "type": "School fees", "applies": "Language school", "amount": "About 610,000 to 1,900,000 yen", "period": "First year", "note": "Admission and tuition only. Exam fees, materials and practical training may be charged separately.", "article": "japanese-language-school-cost", "source": "https://www.studyinjapan.go.jp/en/planning/academic-fees/", "sourceLabel": "Study in Japan"},
    {"item": "Yoshida Institute, 1 year", "type": "School fees", "applies": "Language school", "amount": "843,000 yen", "period": "1 year, from the October 2026 term", "note": "One Tokyo example, not a ranking or market average. Application 25,000 yen, admission 98,000 yen, tuition 684,000 yen, other fees 36,000 yen. JLPT and EJU textbooks are not covered. The application fee is not refunded. Yoshida said its October and January courses had reached capacity on November 6, 2026.", "article": "japanese-language-school-cost", "source": "https://yosida.com/intensive-japanese/long-term-fees", "sourceLabel": "Yoshida Institute"},
    {"item": "JASSO Tokyo center, 1 year", "type": "School fees", "applies": "Language school", "amount": "842,867 yen", "period": "1 year, April 2027 intake", "note": "Our own sum of 822,867 yen course fees and the 20,000 yen selection fee. One Tokyo example, not a ranking. No installments. Fees paid are generally not refunded.", "article": "japanese-language-school-cost", "source": "https://www.jasso.go.jp/ryugaku/jlec/tjlec/enrollment/admission.html", "sourceLabel": "JASSO Tokyo center"},
    {"item": "Yoshida Institute, 1 year plus 6-month continuation", "type": "School fees", "applies": "Language school", "amount": "1,203,000 yen", "period": "18 months", "note": "Our own sum. The 6-month continuation lists no insurance in its operating fee, so it is not exactly like the JASSO course.", "article": "japanese-language-school-cost", "source": "https://yosida.com/intensive-japanese/long-term-fees", "sourceLabel": "Yoshida Institute"},
    {"item": "JASSO Tokyo center, 1.5-year course", "type": "School fees", "applies": "Language school", "amount": "1,212,337 yen", "period": "18 months", "note": "Our own sum, with the selection fee.", "article": "japanese-language-school-cost", "source": "https://www.jasso.go.jp/ryugaku/jlec/tjlec/enrollment/admission.html", "sourceLabel": "JASSO Tokyo center"},
    {"item": "Average living cost, Japan", "type": "Living costs", "applies": "All students", "amount": "105,000 yen a month", "period": "2023 JASSO survey", "note": "National average, excluding study costs. Our own sums: 1,260,000 yen for 12 months, 1,890,000 yen for 18 months.", "article": "japanese-language-school-cost", "source": "https://www.studyinjapan.go.jp/en/life/cost-of-living/", "sourceLabel": "Study in Japan"},
    {"item": "Average rent, Japan", "type": "Living costs", "applies": "All students", "amount": "41,000 yen a month", "period": "2023 JASSO survey", "note": "National average.", "article": "japanese-language-school-cost", "source": "https://www.studyinjapan.go.jp/en/life/cost-of-living/", "sourceLabel": "Study in Japan"},
    {"item": "Average rent, Tokyo", "type": "Living costs", "applies": "All students", "amount": "57,000 yen a month", "period": "2023 JASSO survey", "note": "16,000 yen a month above the national average, or 192,000 yen for 12 months (our own sum). This changes rent only.", "article": "japanese-language-school-cost", "source": "https://www.studyinjapan.go.jp/en/life/cost-of-living/", "sourceLabel": "Study in Japan"},
    {"item": "Worked budget, low end of fees", "type": "Worked budget", "applies": "Language school", "amount": "1,870,000 yen (2,062,000 yen with Tokyo rent)", "period": "12 months", "note": "Our own calculation: 610,000 yen fees plus 1,260,000 yen living costs. Leaves out flights, visa costs, moving-in costs and any money you earn.", "article": "japanese-language-school-cost", "source": "https://www.studyinjapan.go.jp/en/planning/academic-fees/", "sourceLabel": "Study in Japan"},
    {"item": "Worked budget, example school", "type": "Worked budget", "applies": "Language school", "amount": "2,103,000 yen (2,295,000 yen with Tokyo rent)", "period": "12 months", "note": "Our own calculation: 843,000 yen Yoshida Institute fees plus 1,260,000 yen living costs. Leaves out flights, visa costs, moving-in costs and any money you earn.", "article": "japanese-language-school-cost", "source": "https://yosida.com/intensive-japanese/long-term-fees", "sourceLabel": "Yoshida Institute"},
    {"item": "Worked budget, high end of fees", "type": "Worked budget", "applies": "Language school", "amount": "3,160,000 yen (3,352,000 yen with Tokyo rent)", "period": "12 months", "note": "Our own calculation: 1,900,000 yen fees plus 1,260,000 yen living costs. Leaves out flights, visa costs, moving-in costs and any money you earn.", "article": "japanese-language-school-cost", "source": "https://www.studyinjapan.go.jp/en/planning/academic-fees/", "sourceLabel": "Study in Japan"},
    {"item": "JASSO Honors Scholarship, language school", "type": "Scholarship", "applies": "Language school", "amount": "30,000 yen a month", "period": "Not stated for language schools", "note": "Places are limited and your school must nominate you. It does not cover tuition. No Japanese requirement is listed, but you must aim to enter higher education in the following year. 360,000 yen assumes 12 months, which the page does not state. Do not plan your budget on it.", "article": "mext-vs-jasso-scholarship", "source": "https://www.studyinjapan.go.jp/en/planning/scholarships/jasso-scholarships/", "sourceLabel": "Study in Japan"},
    {"item": "JASSO Honors Scholarship, university", "type": "Scholarship", "applies": "University in Japan", "amount": "48,000 yen a month", "period": "Generally one year, or six months from October", "note": "For self-funded students on a Student visa. It does not cover tuition. Japanese rule: N2, or EJU 200+, or English at B2. Also check the 2.30 grade average, money from abroad averaging under 90,000 yen a month (excluding entrance and tuition fees), and school nomination. Each school has limited places.", "article": "mext-vs-jasso-scholarship", "source": "https://www.studyinjapan.go.jp/en/planning/scholarships/jasso-scholarships/", "sourceLabel": "Study in Japan"},
    {"item": "MEXT, Japanese Studies", "type": "Scholarship", "applies": "University abroad", "amount": "117,000 yen a month, plus 2,000 or 3,000 yen in some regions", "period": "Up to one year (2026 guidelines)", "note": "Amounts may change each year, and we have not seen the 2027 guidelines. Tuition and entrance fees waived, economy ticket with conditions. Age 18 to 29. No N-level named: the rule is Japanese good enough for university study. Any certificate you send should be dated no earlier than two years before you apply. If you do not return and continue your degree, you may have to repay it.", "article": "mext-vs-jasso-scholarship", "source": "https://www.mext.go.jp/content/20251222-mxt-kotokoku01-000046488_02.pdf", "sourceLabel": "MEXT 2026 guidelines"},
    {"item": "MEXT, research students", "type": "Scholarship", "applies": "Study in Japan under MEXT", "amount": "143,000 yen a month for preparatory and non-regular students, 144,000 yen for master's and professional degrees, 145,000 yen for doctoral courses", "period": "Depends on the route", "note": "2027 guidelines. Regional allowance of 2,000 or 3,000 yen in some regions, and the amount may change each fiscal year. Age: under 35. The embassy exam covers Japanese and English.", "article": "mext-vs-jasso-scholarship", "source": "https://www.mext.go.jp/content/20260420-mxt-kotokoku01-000049243_02.pdf", "sourceLabel": "MEXT 2027 guidelines"},
    {"item": "MEXT, teacher training", "type": "Scholarship", "applies": "Study in Japan under MEXT", "amount": "143,000 yen a month", "period": "1 year 6 months", "note": "2026 amount from one embassy notice. We did not read this program's guidelines, so use them to confirm. Age: under 35.", "article": "mext-vs-jasso-scholarship", "source": "https://www.ge.emb-japan.go.jp/itpr_ja/11_000001_01270.html", "sourceLabel": "Embassy of Japan in Georgia"},
    {"item": "MEXT, undergraduate", "type": "Scholarship", "applies": "Study in Japan under MEXT", "amount": "117,000 yen a month", "period": "5 years by the embassy route, 7 for some fields", "note": "2027 guidelines. Regional allowance of 2,000 or 3,000 yen in some regions, and the amount may change each fiscal year. Age: under 25. The embassy exam adds mathematics and science.", "article": "mext-vs-jasso-scholarship", "source": "https://www.mext.go.jp/content/20260420-mxt-kotokoku01-000049232_02.pdf", "sourceLabel": "MEXT 2027 guidelines"},
    {"item": "MEXT, college of technology", "type": "Scholarship", "applies": "Study in Japan under MEXT", "amount": "117,000 yen a month", "period": "4 years, with exceptions", "note": "2027 guidelines. Regional allowance of 2,000 or 3,000 yen in some regions, and the amount may change each fiscal year. Age: under 25.", "article": "mext-vs-jasso-scholarship", "source": "https://www.mext.go.jp/content/20260420-mxt-kotokoku01-000049232_06.pdf", "sourceLabel": "MEXT 2027 guidelines"},
    {"item": "MEXT, specialized training college", "type": "Scholarship", "applies": "Study in Japan under MEXT", "amount": "117,000 yen a month", "period": "3 years", "note": "2027 guidelines. Regional allowance of 2,000 or 3,000 yen in some regions, and the amount may change each fiscal year. Age: under 25.", "article": "mext-vs-jasso-scholarship", "source": "https://www.mext.go.jp/content/20260420-mxt-kotokoku01-000049232_10.pdf", "sourceLabel": "MEXT 2027 guidelines"}
  ]
}
