Japanese Study Cost

Study in Japan cost database

Last checked: 2026-11-06

Search school fees, living costs and scholarships in one table. The 19 rows come from official pages and two published school fee lists. Filter by type, or by the kind of student a row applies to.

19 entries

ItemTypeAmountPeriodWhat to checkSource
First-year language school fees, Study in Japan rangeSchool feesAbout 610,000 to 1,900,000 yenFirst yearAdmission and tuition only. Exam fees, materials and practical training may be charged separately.Study in Japan
Yoshida Institute, 1 yearSchool fees843,000 yen1 year, from the October 2026 termOne Tokyo example, not a ranking or market average. Application 25,000 yen, admission 98,000 yen, tuition 684,000 yen, other fees 36,000 yen. JLPT and EJU textbooks are not covered. The application fee is not refunded. Yoshida said its October and January courses had reached capacity on November 6, 2026.Yoshida Institute
JASSO Tokyo center, 1 yearSchool fees842,867 yen1 year, April 2027 intakeOur own sum of 822,867 yen course fees and the 20,000 yen selection fee. One Tokyo example, not a ranking. No installments. Fees paid are generally not refunded.JASSO Tokyo center
Yoshida Institute, 1 year plus 6-month continuationSchool fees1,203,000 yen18 monthsOur own sum. The 6-month continuation lists no insurance in its operating fee, so it is not exactly like the JASSO course.Yoshida Institute
JASSO Tokyo center, 1.5-year courseSchool fees1,212,337 yen18 monthsOur own sum, with the selection fee.JASSO Tokyo center
Average living cost, JapanLiving costs105,000 yen a month2023 JASSO surveyNational average, excluding study costs. Our own sums: 1,260,000 yen for 12 months, 1,890,000 yen for 18 months.Study in Japan
Average rent, JapanLiving costs41,000 yen a month2023 JASSO surveyNational average.Study in Japan
Average rent, TokyoLiving costs57,000 yen a month2023 JASSO survey16,000 yen a month above the national average, or 192,000 yen for 12 months (our own sum). This changes rent only.Study in Japan
Worked budget, low end of feesWorked budget1,870,000 yen (2,062,000 yen with Tokyo rent)12 monthsOur own calculation: 610,000 yen fees plus 1,260,000 yen living costs. Leaves out flights, visa costs, moving-in costs and any money you earn.Study in Japan
Worked budget, example schoolWorked budget2,103,000 yen (2,295,000 yen with Tokyo rent)12 monthsOur own calculation: 843,000 yen Yoshida Institute fees plus 1,260,000 yen living costs. Leaves out flights, visa costs, moving-in costs and any money you earn.Yoshida Institute
Worked budget, high end of feesWorked budget3,160,000 yen (3,352,000 yen with Tokyo rent)12 monthsOur own calculation: 1,900,000 yen fees plus 1,260,000 yen living costs. Leaves out flights, visa costs, moving-in costs and any money you earn.Study in Japan
JASSO Honors Scholarship, language schoolScholarship30,000 yen a monthNot stated for language schoolsPlaces are limited and your school must nominate you. It does not cover tuition. No Japanese requirement is listed, but you must aim to enter higher education in the following year. 360,000 yen assumes 12 months, which the page does not state. Do not plan your budget on it.Study in Japan
JASSO Honors Scholarship, universityScholarship48,000 yen a monthGenerally one year, or six months from OctoberFor self-funded students on a Student visa. It does not cover tuition. Japanese rule: N2, or EJU 200+, or English at B2. Also check the 2.30 grade average, money from abroad averaging under 90,000 yen a month (excluding entrance and tuition fees), and school nomination. Each school has limited places.Study in Japan
MEXT, Japanese StudiesScholarship117,000 yen a month, plus 2,000 or 3,000 yen in some regionsUp to one year (2026 guidelines)Amounts may change each year, and we have not seen the 2027 guidelines. Tuition and entrance fees waived, economy ticket with conditions. Age 18 to 29. No N-level named: the rule is Japanese good enough for university study. Any certificate you send should be dated no earlier than two years before you apply. If you do not return and continue your degree, you may have to repay it.MEXT 2026 guidelines
MEXT, research studentsScholarship143,000 yen a month for preparatory and non-regular students, 144,000 yen for master's and professional degrees, 145,000 yen for doctoral coursesDepends on the route2027 guidelines. Regional allowance of 2,000 or 3,000 yen in some regions, and the amount may change each fiscal year. Age: under 35. The embassy exam covers Japanese and English.MEXT 2027 guidelines
MEXT, teacher trainingScholarship143,000 yen a month1 year 6 months2026 amount from one embassy notice. We did not read this program's guidelines, so use them to confirm. Age: under 35.Embassy of Japan in Georgia
MEXT, undergraduateScholarship117,000 yen a month5 years by the embassy route, 7 for some fields2027 guidelines. Regional allowance of 2,000 or 3,000 yen in some regions, and the amount may change each fiscal year. Age: under 25. The embassy exam adds mathematics and science.MEXT 2027 guidelines
MEXT, college of technologyScholarship117,000 yen a month4 years, with exceptions2027 guidelines. Regional allowance of 2,000 or 3,000 yen in some regions, and the amount may change each fiscal year. Age: under 25.MEXT 2027 guidelines
MEXT, specialized training collegeScholarship117,000 yen a month3 years2027 guidelines. Regional allowance of 2,000 or 3,000 yen in some regions, and the amount may change each fiscal year. Age: under 25.MEXT 2027 guidelines

Download this data as JSON

How to read this data

Worked example

Filter by Worked budget. The example school row starts with Yoshida Institute's 843,000 yen for one year. Add 12 months at the 105,000 yen average, which is 1,260,000 yen. The total is 2,103,000 yen. Tokyo rent adds 192,000 yen, for 2,295,000 yen.

Now filter by Scholarship. If JASSO's language school rate ran for 12 months, it would be 360,000 yen, or about 17% of that 2,103,000 yen. The page does not state the period, and places are limited. Study in Japan itself says to plan your budget without relying on a scholarship.

What this data leaves out

The Embassy of Japan in Ireland says Japanese Studies candidates should preferably have N2, but that it is not essential. That is an embassy page for its own applicants, not MEXT's guidelines, so it is not in the table. Ask your embassy.

Read the full language school budget and our MEXT and JASSO comparison. See also which JLPT level you need for Japan. Not ready to move? Try the tutor cost calculator.